Making Time

Tell most people that you’ve written a book and you’ll get a reaction something like, “Oh, that’s great! I’ve always wanted to write a book.”

Some people are more serious than others. Some have stories they want to tell. A few of them have started and stopped.

A variety of things hold people back from writing. I started and stopped a hundred times before the time I started and didn’t stop. My primary roadblocks were:

– Lack of motivation. It can be hard to make the decision to write when the world has so many distractions.

– Lack of direction. I never planned out my book. In the end, that didn’t stop me, but it sure made it more difficult.

– Lack of time. I keep myself very busy. I always have. Finding time for anything outside of work, school, and music was challenging.

I overcame these obstacles largely by chance. I was working from my company’s offices in Argentina for 30 days. Without many friends in Buenos Aires, I had a lot of free time, so I would go to coffee shops and write. I didn’t really expect anything to come of it, but by the time I returned home I had written half a book. After getting so far, I felt that I owed it to myself to see the project through.

It took me another two years to complete the novel and get it self-published. I definitely had my ups and downs. Entire months went by when I hardly looked at my manuscript. But ultimately, I got it done.

To anyone who thinks they simply don’t have time to write, know that you do. You choose what to do with every second of every day. You could quit your job and write. You could devote every Sunday to the pursuit. You choose not to. It isn’t an easy choice to make, I know. But it is your choice.

So if you’re serious about it, you’ll make time for it. If you don’t, that’s ok, as long as you’re happy with the choices you do make.

I believe you’re more likely to make the choice if your expectations are in line with reality.

I’ve recorded several albums now, and put them out into the world. I’ve written a book. None of these efforts have brought me fame or fortune. Not yet, anyway. But they have brought me an unquantifiable degree of personal satisfaction, and that has always been the goal. I wrote my best songs for myself. I wrote my book because it was an enjoyable project. Do it for you, and finding the motivation, direction, and time becomes infinitely easier.

One thought on “Making Time

Leave a Reply

