Expert Advice

My book, Wings of the Sathakos, was professionally edited by one Keith J. Olexa.

He made my book worth reading and he made me a better writer. I consider myself very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with him.

After he finished his edits, we had a call to discuss them.

At the time, he was one of very few people that had read the book. So I asked him, in his expert opinion, if he thought I should pursue a career as a writer.

Is my writing good enough? Is the story worthwhile and original enough? Do I have a chance at finding success?

He didn’t answer those questions. He told me that if I needed someone like him, or anyone, to tell me that I was good enough, that my writing was good enough, then I was doing it for the wrong reasons.

Do it because you love it. Do it because you believe in your own work. Accept and use criticism, but don’t let it beat you down or convince you to throw in the towel.

Make your writing better, always. Make your stories better. And pursue success because you want it, not because someone else thinks you can or should.

Leave a Reply

