Hitting The Wall

I haven’t been writing much lately.

It isn’t that I haven’t had time, or haven’t tried. It isn’t that I don’t know what to write; on the contrary, I have the rest of the book pretty well planned out.

I just can’t get motivated to actually do it.

It isn’t that I don’t think what I’m writing is good. It isn’t that I don’t like the story or the characters. It isn’t that I’m getting tired of this world or have aspirations to write something else.

I’m just distracted.

Such is the world we live in. A million distractions, fighting for your attention. Sometimes they win and you can’t focus on the very thing you want. It’s a war, and lately, I’ve been losing.

A quick search on the ol’ Google brings up the following suggestions for curing writer’s block:

1. Go for a walk.

2. Change your environment.

3. Read a book.

There are others. All similar. I do have a favorite, though.

Read some inspiring quotes.

And here’s my favorite of those:

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started.” – Mark Twain

I’ve gotten that far, at least. I’ve gotten started. That was never my problem. Finishing, however, that’s a whole different story.

Leave a Reply

